The finest men’s curling team in Merritt hoisted the Strickland Cup on March 22, the 105th time the trophy has been awarded in the Nicola Valley.

John Parada, Wayne Byers, Randy Neill and Grant Klassen added their names to a piece of homegrown history on Friday, as the Merritt Curling Club held its final competitions for the season. Along with the Strickland Cup, awards were handed out the top women’s and mixed doubles teams.

The Strickland Cup is one of the oldest curling trophies in B.C., said Paul Montgomery, president of the Merritt Curling Club.

The trophy is named after A.W. Strickland, a founding member of the Merritt Curling Club who was the manager of the local Bank of Montreal when the club was founded in 1911. The club is considered to be the third-oldest in B.C., the Herald reported in 2014, when the Strickland Cup was awarded for the 100th time.

The Merritt Curling Club added a new chapter in its storied history this season, as the club hosted mixed doubles competition for the first time. Curt Thoms and Monika Tenisch came away with the title of ‘A’ winners, while Rick Mettler and Dennis Couture finished first in the ‘B’ final.

Winners of the ladies’ ‘A’ final (left to right): Clara Irwin, Susan Newton, Chloe Mitchell, Jose Warren and Deb Stowell (missing). (Photo contributed).

Ladies’ ‘B’ final (left to right): Sharlene Lively, Shelly Sanders, Sue Kerr, Liz Ladyman and (missing) Joan Robinson. (Photo contributed).

Winners of the mixed doubles ‘A’ final: Curt Thoms and Monika Tenisch. (Photo contributed).

Winners of the mixed doubles ‘B’ final: Rick Mettler and Dennis Couture. (Photo contributed).

Men’s ‘B’ final winners (left to right): Doug Stone, Gareth Tilt, Ian Gordon and Curt Thoms. (Photo contributed).


Editor’s note (March 29): A prior version of this story omitted Joan Robinson’s name from the list of the ladies’ ‘B’ winners.